H.R. No. 654

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Eight accomplished public servants are being
- 2 honored by the Texas Legislative Black Caucus on February 28 as
- 3 recipients of a 2011 Trailblazer Award; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This notable accolade is given to individuals who
- 5 ably served the citizens of this state as members of the Texas House
- 6 and who also shared their valuable insight and wisdom through their
- 7 participation in the Texas Legislative Black Caucus; this year's
- 8 outstanding honorees include former state representatives Fred
- 9 Blair (1987-1993), Lanell Cofer (1977-1983), Zan W. Holmes, Jr.
- 10 (1968-1973), Samuel Hudson III (1973-1997), Jesse Jones
- 11 (1993-2007), Jerald H. Larry (1987-1993), Jesse D. Oliver
- 12 (1983-1987), and Paul Ragsdale (1973-1987); and
- WHEREAS, Among this distinguished roster of state
- 14 legislators are the Honorable Samuel Hudson and the Honorable Paul
- 15 Ragsdale who, together with the Honorable Senfronia Thompson, Eddie
- 16 Bernice Johnson, Anthony Hall, Mickey Leland, Craig Washington, and
- 17 $\,$ G. J. Sutton, formed the Texas Legislative Black Caucus in 1973 as
- 18 a means by which to address issues faced by African Americans across
- 19 the Lone Star State; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Over the course of their exemplary tenure in state
- 21 government, each of the 2011 Trailblazers made many significant
- 22 contributions to the betterment of life in their communities and
- 23 beyond, and they opened doors of opportunity and empowered
- 24 countless people through their commitment toward achieving the goal

H.R. No. 654

- 1 of a more just and equitable society; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Fred Blair, Lanell Cofer, Zan
- 4 W. Holmes, Jr., Samuel Hudson III, Jesse Jones, Jerald H. Larry,
- 5 Jesse D. Oliver, and Paul Ragsdale on their receipt of a 2011
- 6 Trailblazer Award from the Texas Legislative Black Caucus and
- 7 commend these inspiring leaders for the profound difference they
- 8 have made in the lives of their fellow Texans; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the honorees as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 654

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 654
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H P No 654 was	adopted by the House on February
28, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the house on rebruary
	Chief Clerk of the House