H.R. No. 773

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Jerry Madden, state representative of
House District 67, has been selected by *Governing* magazine as a 2010
Public Official of the Year; and

WHEREAS, This national accolade annually recognizes individuals who have had a notable positive impact on the people they serve and is considered the preeminent honor for state and local government officials; and

WHEREAS, Representative Madden was chosen for the award along 8 with Senator John Whitmire for their efforts to reform the Texas 9 criminal justice system; after being appointed chair of the House 10 11 Committee on Corrections in 2005, Representative Madden began to 12 analyze related facts and statistics and to collaborate with Senator Whitmire to seek ways of preventing an increase in the 13 14 prison population while also safeguarding the public and effectively rehabilitating offenders; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Recognizing that it costs less to intervene early 17 when dealing with offenders who have mental health or addiction 18 problems, the two legislators crafted a plan in which more 19 resources were directed to mental health and substance abuse 20 programs already in existence in the community, with the result not 21 only that the total prison population decreased, but also that 22 recidivism declined substantially; and

23 WHEREAS, Innovative and effective leadership is 24 characteristic of this West Point-trained engineer, who was first

1

H.R. No. 773 1 elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 1992 and is 2 currently serving his 10th term in office; and

3 WHEREAS, Through his forward-thinking approach to changing 4 the way low-risk offenders were treated in the prison and probation 5 systems, he eliminated the need to build more facilities and 6 changed many lives for the better along the way, and his work has 7 helped to make Texas a nationwide model for corrections reform; 8 now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 10 Legislature hereby congratulate Representative Jerry Madden on 11 being named a 2010 Public Official of the Year by *Governing* magazine 12 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be 13 it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Representative Madden as an expression of high regard 16 by his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

Pitts

2

H.R. No. 773

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 773

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 773 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House