RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Beverly Woolley of Houston has been 2 named speaker pro tempore of the Texas House of Representatives, 3 and she is the first Republican woman to serve in that capacity; and

WHEREAS, Originally elected to the Texas Legislature in 1994, 4 5 Representative Woolley is serving her ninth consecutive term in the State Capitol; during her tenure she has proven herself to be a 6 7 staunch advocate for local governments, promoting legislation that enables them to function more efficiently and effectively; she has 8 9 also initiated proposals to aid law enforcement, protect abused children, safeguard private property rights, and foster financial 10 11 literacy, as well as to help small businesses gain better access to 12 health insurance and to create greater and more efficient access to quality health care through the establishment of the Texas Health 13 14 Care Council; and

WHEREAS, Representative Woolley currently serves on the House Ways and Means and Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committees; she has previously chaired the Calendars Committee, co-chaired the Interim Committee on the Power of Eminent Domain, and served as vice chair of the Pensions and Investments Committee; and

21 WHEREAS, A native of the Bayou City, Representative Woolley 22 earned a degree in political science with honors from the 23 University of Houston; she went on to enjoy a successful career in 24 business as the co-owner of the Houston Armature Works, and she has

1

1 long played an active role as a civic leader, serving on the Nassau
2 Bay City Council and on the boards of the Court Appointed Special
3 Advocates, the Mental Health Association, and the Foundation for
4 Financial Literacy; she has also served as a Cub Scout leader and as
5 a coach for children's sports teams; and

WHEREAS, Recognized on a number of occasions for her work to 6 promote financial literacy, Representative Woolley was selected 7 8 from among state lawmakers nationwide to receive a 2005 Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award from the Credit Union National 9 10 Association; other laurels include the Legislative Excellence Award from the Texas Municipal Police Association and accolades 11 from the Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas, the 12 Houston Professional Fire Fighters Association, and the Texas 13 14 Association of Business; and

15 WHEREAS, Beverly Woolley and her husband, Lynn Woolley, 16 celebrated their golden wedding anniversary in 2010; they are the 17 proud parents of three children, Cheryl Jackson, James Woolley, and 18 David Woolley, and the devoted grandparents of Abby, Morgan, Jamie, 19 Jalynn, Anna, and Samuel; and

20 WHEREAS, Over the course of her career in the Texas House, 21 Representative Woolley has exemplified the highest standards of 22 public service while working tirelessly to achieve a brighter, more 23 prosperous future for the citizens of her district and for Texans 24 throughout the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 26 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Beverly Woolley on 27 her selection as speaker pro tempore of this chamber and extend to

2

H.R. No. 833 1 her sincere best wishes for continued success in all of her 2 endeavors; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Representative Woolley as an expression of high regard 5 by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Button Thompson Crownover McClendon Truitt

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 833 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House