RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Ruth Jones McClendon, state 2 representative for District 120, has established the McClendon 3 Legislative Scholars Program at The University of Texas at San 4 Antonio; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 2004, the McClendon Scholars Program, which is also known as the UTSA Legislative Scholars Program, has provided 6 students with the chance to work full-time at the State Capitol 7 during legislative sessions; Representative McClendon worked with 8 Dr. Richard Gambitta, director of the university's Institute for 9 Law and Public Affairs, to create this program, which allows 10 participants to expand their knowledge and gain firsthand 11 12 experience in Texas politics and government; and

13 WHEREAS, Representative McClendon has worked closely with 14 UTSA and many donors to develop this prestigious program, which includes a \$10,000 stipend; for the 82nd Legislative Session, she 15 raised sufficient funds to offer this unique opportunity to 10 16 students, the largest class of scholars to date; by the end of this 17 session, 26 McClendon Scholars will have successfully completed the 18 program, and a number of its alumni have gone on to pursue careers 19 20 in public service after graduation; and

21 WHEREAS, By creating this significant initiative, 22 Representative McClendon has enhanced the educational experience 23 of a select group of young Texans, and in so doing, she is helping 24 prepare a future generation of leaders; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Ruth Jones McClendon for 3 her efforts in establishing and supporting the McClendon 4 Legislative Scholars Program and congratulate her on its success; 5 and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Representative McClendon as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dukes

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Munoz, Jr. Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Morrison

Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2525 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House