H.R. No. 898

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Dr. John Zerwas and Cindy Zerwas were
- 2 honored as the 2013 Citizens of the Year at the Katy Area Chamber of
- 3 Commerce annual gala on February 22, 2013; and
- 4 WHEREAS, John and Cindy Zerwas both graduated from Bellaire
- 5 High School in 1973, and they were married five years later; he
- 6 attended the University of Houston as an undergraduate and then
- 7 earned a doctorate from the Baylor College of Medicine in 1980; he
- 8 has been a physician for more than three decades, starting a
- 9 full-time private practice in 1985 and subsequently a group
- 10 practice; he has presided over the Memorial Hermann Health Network
- 11 Providers and served as chief medical officer of the Memorial
- 12 Hermann Hospital System, and he is now the president of the American
- 13 Society of Anesthesiologists; and
- 14 WHEREAS, As a member of the Texas House of Representatives,
- 15 Dr. Zerwas brings exceptional experience and expertise to
- 16 decisions relating to health care in this state; he has worked to
- 17 increase transparency for patients and sought to update organ
- 18 donation laws, and his efforts have led to honors from the Texas
- 19 Medical Association and the Texas Hospital Association; moreover,
- 20 he has twice been named one of the 10 best legislators by Texas
- 21 Monthly magazine; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Cindy Zerwas is the bedrock of the Zerwas family,
- 23 devoting herself to her husband and her loved ones, including her
- 24 four children, John, Joseph, Brandon, and Sherry, a

H.R. No. 898

- 1 daughter-in-law, Monica, a son-in-law, Matthew, and two
- 2 grandchildren, Isabel and Matthew; she has been active in her
- 3 community through involvement in several parent-teacher
- 4 organizations, the Boy Scouts, and other groups, and her dedication
- 5 and commitment were recognized when she was named the Woman of the
- 6 Year by the West Fort Bend County Republican Women's Club; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. and Mrs. Zerwas are active church leaders, and
- 8 Dr. Zerwas helped to form the First Colony Church of Christ and was
- 9 one of its first deacons; in addition, he took part in the creation
- 10 of a Boy Scout troop in the Pecan Grove area; and
- 11 WHEREAS, These esteemed Texans have made many significant
- 12 contributions to the betterment of life in their community and
- 13 beyond, and they may take justifiable pride in their exemplary
- 14 records of achievement; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Dr. John Zerwas and
- 17 Cindy Zerwas on their selection as the 2013 Citizens of the Year by
- 18 the Katy Area Chamber of Commerce and extend to them sincere best
- 19 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Representative and Mrs. Zerwas as an expression of
- 22 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Callegari Darby

## H.R. No. 898

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	zedler

<b>TT</b>	_	7. T	292
н	-	$N \cap$	$\times$

\_\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 898 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

-----

Chief Clerk of the House