H.R. No. 1896

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Tom Craddick was inducted into the
Petroleum Hall of Fame on April 18, 2013; and

3 WHEREAS, The Petroleum Hall of Fame, which is based at the 4 Permian Basin Petroleum Museum in Midland, honors individuals who 5 have made exceptional contributions to the development of the 6 petroleum industry or who have inspired others through their 7 achievements, service, or strength of character; and

8 WHEREAS, Recognized in the Hall of Fame for his outstanding 9 support of the Permian Basin and the state's oil and gas industry, 10 Tom Craddick has represented Midland in the Texas House of 11 Representatives since 1969, when he became one of just nine 12 Republicans in the House; he quickly gained prominence as a member 13 of the bipartisan reformist group known as "The Dirty 30," which 14 advocated for changes in House ethics rules; and

WHEREAS, Representative Craddick eventually helped his party gain the majority in the House for the first time in 130 years, and he served as the first Republican speaker from 2003 to 2009; over the course of a career spanning more than four decades, he has served on numerous legislative committees, and he currently shares his expertise as a member of the Energy Resources and State Affairs Committees; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas Tech University with both bachelor's and master's degrees, he owns Craddick Properties, a Midland investment business, and is president of Craddick, Inc.; he

1

H.R. No. 1896

is also a business development representative for Rapid Drilling
and Chem Rock, an oilfield supply company; and

3 WHEREAS, In 2011, Speaker Craddick received the Top Hand 4 Award from the Permian Basin Petroleum Association, which cited his 5 deep knowledge of oil and gas issues and his advocacy in behalf of 6 the industry; his numerous accolades further include the Hats Off! 7 Award from the Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners 8 Association; and

9 WHEREAS, Tom Craddick has distinguished himself as a highly 10 effective leader in an industry that is a vital part of the Texas 11 economy, and his accomplishments indeed merit special recognition; 12 now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 14 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Tom Craddick on his 15 induction into the Petroleum Hall of Fame and extend to him sincere 16 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Speaker Craddick as an expression of high regard by the 19 Texas House of Representatives.

> Goldman Stickland

2

H.R. No. 1896

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Ranev Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1896

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1896 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House