H.R. No. 2459

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Aaron Pena, Jr., rendered exceptional

service to his fellow citizens throughout his decade-long tenure in

3 the Texas House of Representatives; and

2

4 WHEREAS, Representative Pena was raised in Edinburg and

5 graduated from The University of Texas at Austin; he earned his

6 juris doctorate from Texas Southern University before embarking on

7 a career in law; he first won election to the Texas House in 2002 and

8 went on to represent the citizens of House District 40 during the

9 78th through the 82nd Legislatures; and

10 WHEREAS, Representative Pena served on numerous committees,

11 helping to develop policy on a wide range of issues; in his third

12 term, he became chair of the House Committee on Criminal

13 Jurisprudence, and he subsequently chaired the Committees on

14 Technology and Emergency Preparedness; he was pioneering in his use

15 of Internet media to increase government transparency and better

16 interact with constituents; and

17 WHEREAS, Throughout his legislative career, Representative

18 Pena distinguished himself as a strong advocate for the Rio Grande

19 Valley; among his numerous achievements, he helped bring a medical

20 school and a state-operated drug treatment center to the region; he

21 also worked to raise teacher salaries and played a key role in

22 establishing new facilities at The University of Texas-Pan

23 American; in addition, he was an ardent supporter of veterans, and

24 he endorsed legislation that expanded health insurance coverage for

- 1 Texas children; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Along the way, this esteemed public servant was
- 3 instrumental in the creation of the Hispanic Republican Conference
- 4 of Texas, which he served as founding chair, and in 2009, he was
- 5 commissioned a major in the Texas State Guard; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Representative Pena has been the recipient of myriad
- 7 awards for his political leadership and contributions to Hidalgo
- 8 County, including the Teddy Roosevelt Award from the McAllen
- 9 Chamber of Commerce and the Champion of Freedom Award from the Texas
- 10 Federation of Republican Women; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In his 10 years as a state representative, Aaron
- 12 Pena, Jr., made a positive and lasting impact on the lives of
- 13 countless citizens, and his achievements will continue to benefit
- 14 the Lone Star State for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Aaron Pena, Jr., for his
- 17 outstanding public service and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 18 for the future; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for Representative Pena as an expression of high regard by
- 21 the Texas House of Representatives.

Canales

H.R. No. 2459

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/ 3.4 4 4	

	H.R. No. 2459	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 2459 was	adopted by the House on May 23,	
2013, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House