SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 65

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Clear Lake Area Chamber of Commerce in recognizing former Senator Mike Jackson for his exemplary service to the state; and

WHEREAS, Senator Jackson began his career in state service as a member of the Texas House of Representatives, serving the people of District 129 for five terms; he was elected to the Texas Senate from District 11 in 1998; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his Senate career, he served on numerous important committees, including State Affairs, Business and Commerce, Natural Resources, and Agriculture and Rural Affairs; he last chaired the Senate Economic Development Committee, and he was elected by his colleagues in 2011 to serve as the body's president pro tempore; and

WHEREAS, Senator Jackson received numerous awards and commendations for his service; he was named a Champion of Small Business by the National Coalition for Capital and twice received the Taxpayer Advocate Award from Texans for Fiscal Responsibility; he received the Coastal Stewardship Award for his beach conservation efforts and was named a Fighter for Free Enterprise three times by the Texas Association of Business; and

WHEREAS, Senator Jackson was chosen to represent Texas as a delegate to the Southern Legislative Conference, and he served on several committees with the National Conference of State Legislatures; he has had a profound impact on the well-being of our state, and it is truly fitting that he be recognized for his service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, hereby commend Mike Jackson on his outstanding service to his constituents and to the state and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Taylor

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 28, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate