MINUTES

JOINT COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC STABILIZATION FUND BALANCE, SELECT

Thursday, December 11, 2014 10:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.036

Pursuant to Rule 1, Texas House Rules and pursuant to Rule 11.03, Texas Senate Rules, a public hearing of the Joint Committee on Economic Stabilization Fund Balance, Select was held on Thursday, December 11, 2014, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Myra Crownover, Co-Chair Senator Jane Nelson, Co-Chair Senator Robert Nichols, Vice Chair Representative Patricia Harless Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Kevin Eltife

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Abel Herrero Representative John Otto Representative Sylvester Turner Senator John Whitmire

Senator Nelson called the meeting to order at 10:02 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Nelson made opening remarks.

Representative Crownover moved adoption of the rules. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Representative Crownover moved that the Select Committee adopt a sufficient balance of the Economic Stabilization Fund totaling \$7 billion for the state fiscal year beginning September 1, 2014. Senator Nichols seconded the motion. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 4 absent.

Senator Nelson moved that the Select Committee adopt a sufficient balance of the Economic Stabilization Fund totaling \$7 billion for the state fiscal biennium beginning September 1, 2015.

Joint Committee on Economic Stabilization Fund Balance, Select

Minutes Thursday, December 11, 2014 Page 2

Senator Eltife seconded the motion. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 4 absent.

Senator Nelson called a representative from the Comptroller of Public Accounts to provide testimony (see attached list).

There being no further business, at 10:07 AM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Nelson, Co-Chair	
Representative Crownover, Co-Chair	
Stephanie Hoover, Clerk	