SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 535

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize women judges from across the state and to welcome them to Austin on April 13, 2015, on the occasion of Texas Female Judges' Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Women judges in Texas have a storied history dating back to 1925, when Governor Pat Neff appointed Hortense Sparks Ward, Hattie Leah Henenberg, and Ruth Virginia Brazzil to serve as Texas Supreme Court justices for a case from which all of the existing judges on the court had recused themselves; and

WHEREAS, The case involved a fraternal organization that had so many prominent members that no qualified male judges or attorneys could be found who did not have a conflict of interest; the women appointed to serve on the supreme court were all well-established attorneys, and these pioneering women formed the first court in the nation composed entirely of women; and

WHEREAS, The first woman to hold a permanent position on a Texas bench was Sarah Tilghman Hughes, a highly esteemed state representative who was appointed to the 14th District Court in Dallas by Governor James Allred in 1935; Judge Hughes went on to win election to the seat for a full term and was reelected for six more terms; in 1961 she also became the first woman to serve as a federal district judge in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Since that time, numerous women have served with distinction on the Texas Supreme Court and on the Court of Criminal Appeals; and

1

S.R. No. 535

WHEREAS, Today, more than 1,000 women preside over courts throughout the state; they exemplify the highest standards of judicial conduct, and their dedication to public service is truly an inspiration to us all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 84th Legislature, hereby commend the women judges of Texas for their service and their commitment to equal justice under the law and extend to them best wishes for a memorable Texas Female Judges' Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

West, Huffman

Bettencourt Birdwell Burton Campbell Creighton Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Garcia Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffines Kolkhorst Lucio Menéndez Nelson Nichols Perry Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor of Galveston Taylor of Collin Uresti Watson Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 13, 2015.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate