1-1           WHEREAS, Today, February 4, 1997, marks the birthday of our

 1-2     esteemed colleague, the Honorable Yvonne Davis, and it gives the

 1-3     members of this chamber great pleasure to recognize her on this

 1-4     auspicious occasion; and

 1-5           WHEREAS, A native Texan, she has seen a great deal of the

 1-6     state she is proud to call home; she spent her childhood in Odessa

 1-7     and as a young woman moved to Southeast Texas to attend the

 1-8     University of Houston, where she attained her bachelor's degree in

 1-9     political science; and

1-10           WHEREAS, After completing her higher education,

1-11     Representative Davis pursued a career path that fully prepared her

1-12     for public service, having held staff positions with the Dallas

1-13     County Commissioners Court, the U.S. House of Representatives, and

1-14     the Texas State Senate; and

1-15           WHEREAS, This dedicated public servant was first elected to

1-16     the house in 1992 and has since served the citizens of District 111

1-17     and, indeed, all Texans, with the utmost integrity and distinction;

1-18     she contributed greatly to the legislative process in sessions past

1-19     as a vital member of the Appropriations, Economic Development,

1-20     Rules and Resolutions, and International and Cultural Relations

1-21     committees and currently shares her insight and expertise with her

1-22     colleagues on the Appropriations, Energy Resources, and Local and

1-23     Consent Calendars committees; and

1-24           WHEREAS, A respected leader in the Democratic Party,

 2-1     Representative Davis has worked diligently to promote the

 2-2     principles and ideals of democracy as a two-term member of the

 2-3     Texas Democratic Party Executive Committee for the 23rd Senate

 2-4     District, as a former president of the Democratic Women of Dallas

 2-5     County, and as an involved participant in the Oak Cliff Democrats

 2-6     and the Texas Coalition of Black Democrats; and

 2-7           WHEREAS, She has been an active force for positive change in

 2-8     her community as well and has long given generously of her time and

 2-9     talents to benefit such worthy organizations as the West Dallas

2-10     Community Centers, the Greater Oak Cliff Citizens Council, the

2-11     NAACP, the Women's Council of Dallas, the Oak Cliff Chamber of

2-12     Commerce, the League of Women Voters, and the Dallas Black Chamber

2-13     of Commerce; and

2-14           WHEREAS, Representative Davis continues to play an active

2-15     role in making this state a better place in which to live, work,

2-16     and raise a family, and the occasion of her birthday provides a

2-17     fitting opportunity to honor her; now, therefore, be it

2-18           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

2-19     Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Yvonne Davis on the

2-20     joyous occasion of her birthday and extend to her sincere best

2-21     wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

2-22           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2-23     prepared for Representative Davis as an expression of highest

2-24     regard from her colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.



         Laney                   Gutierrez                Ogden

         Alexander               Haggerty                 Oliveira

         Allen                   Hamric                   Olivo

         Alvarado                Hartnett                 Palmer

         Averitt                 Hawley                   Patterson

         Bailey                  Heflin                   Pickett

         Berlanga                Hernandez                Pitts

         Bonnen                  Hightower                Place

         Bosse                   Hilbert                  Price

         Brimer                  Hilderbran               Puente

         Burnam                  Hill                     Rabuck

         Carter                  Hinojosa                 Ramsay

         Chavez                  Hirschi                  Rangel

         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Raymond

         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Bexar

         Clark                   Holzheauser              Reyna of Dallas

         Coleman                 Horn                     Rhodes

         Cook                    Howard                   Rodriguez

         Corte                   Hunter                   Sadler

         Counts                  Hupp                     Seaman

         Crabb                   Isett                    Serna

         Craddick                Jackson                  Shields

         Cuellar                 Janek                    Siebert

         Culberson               Jones of Lubbock         Smith

         Danburg                 Jones of Dallas          Smithee

         Davila                  Junell                   Solis

         Delisi                  Kamel                    Solomons

         Denny                   Keel                     Staples

         Driver                  Keffer                   Stiles

         Dukes                   King                     Swinford

         Dunnam                  Krusee                   Talton

         Dutton                  Kubiak                   Telford

         Edwards                 Kuempel                  Thompson

         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Tarrant         Tillery

         Eiland                  Lewis of Orange          Torres

         Elkins                  Longoria                 Turner of Coleman

         Farrar                  Luna                     Turner of Harris

         Finnell                 McCall                   Uher

         Flores                  McClendon                Van de Putte

         Gallego                 McReynolds               Walker

         Galloway                Madden                   West

         Garcia                  Marchant                 Williams

         Giddings                Maxey                    Williamson

         Glaze                   Merritt                  Wilson

         Goodman                 Moffat                   Wise

         Goolsby                 Moreno                   Wohlgemuth

         Gray                    Mowery                   Wolens

         Greenberg               Naishtat                 Woolley

         Grusendorf              Nixon                    Yarbrough

                                 Oakley                   Zbranek


                                                   Speaker of the House

               I certify that H.R. No. 82 was adopted by the House on

         February 4, 1997, by a non-record vote.


                                                 Chief Clerk of the House