1-1           WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to honor

 1-2     an esteemed member of this chamber, the Honorable Miguel "Mike" D.

 1-3     Wise, on the momentous occasion of his 37th birthday; and

 1-4           WHEREAS, This native Texan was born in the community of

 1-5     Mercedes on February 11, 1960, and he currently resides in Weslaco

 1-6     with his wife, Erin Duffy Wise, and their three sons, Miguel D.

 1-7     Wise III, Mark Riborg Wise, and Zachary August Wise; and

 1-8           WHEREAS, Representative Wise received his bachelor's and law

 1-9     degrees from St. Mary's University, earning magna cum laude honors

1-10     as an undergraduate student, and he currently practices law as a

1-11     managing partner in the Harlingen firm of Sweetman & Wise; as a

1-12     member of the Texas National Guard, he attained the rank of captain

1-13     while serving as a paratrooper, infantry officer, and battalion

1-14     staff officer; and

1-15           WHEREAS, A first-time house member, this longtime people's

1-16     advocate represents Texas House District 39 and lists membership on

1-17     the committees on insurance and state, federal, and international

1-18     relations among his many important legislative duties; he is

1-19     quickly learning the ropes and has already created a favorable

1-20     impression among his colleagues and coworkers; and

1-21           WHEREAS, Outside the legislative arena, Representative Wise

1-22     has long given generously of his time and talents to benefit many

1-23     worthy professional and civic organizations; through his

1-24     involvement in the many prestigious bar associations of which he is

 2-1     a member, he has diligently worked to advance the status of the

 2-2     legal assistant profession; and

 2-3           WHEREAS, Representative Wise serves as president of the Rio

 2-4     Grande Council of the Boy Scouts of America and has himself earned

 2-5     many of this notable organization's highest honors; he is also

 2-6     active in the American Legion, Rotary International, and the

 2-7     American Jaycees, which recently named him one of its Five

 2-8     Outstanding Young Texans; and

 2-9           WHEREAS, In 1996, he received the Presidential Citation from

2-10     the State Bar of Texas as an acknowledgment of his outstanding

2-11     legal accomplishments, and he has earned mention in several

2-12     national and international publications, such as Who's Who Among

2-13     American Law Students, International Youth in Achievement, and

2-14     Who's Who in the South and Southwest; and

2-15           WHEREAS, Representative Wise plays an active role in making

2-16     this state a better place in which to live, work, and raise a

2-17     family, and the occasion of his birthday provides a fitting

2-18     opportunity to honor him; now, therefore, be it

2-19           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

2-20     Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Miguel "Mike" D. Wise

2-21     on the occasion of his 37th birthday and extend to him warmest best

2-22     wishes for continued good fortune and happiness in the coming year;

2-23     and, be it further

2-24           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2-25     prepared for Representative Wise as an expression of highest regard

2-26     by his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.


         Laney                   Gutierrez                Oliveira

         Alexander               Haggerty                 Olivo

         Allen                   Hamric                   Palmer

         Alvarado                Hartnett                 Patterson

         Averitt                 Hawley                   Pickett

         Bailey                  Heflin                   Pitts

         Berlanga                Hernandez                Place

         Bonnen                  Hightower                Price

         Bosse                   Hilbert                  Puente

         Brimer                  Hilderbran               Rabuck

         Burnam                  Hill                     Ramsay

         Carter                  Hinojosa                 Rangel

         Chavez                  Hirschi                  Raymond

         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Reyna of Bexar

         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Dallas

         Clark                   Holzheauser              Rhodes

         Coleman                 Horn                     Rodriguez

         Cook                    Howard                   Roman

         Corte                   Hunter                   Sadler

         Counts                  Hupp                     Seaman

         Crabb                   Isett                    Serna

         Craddick                Jackson                  Shields

         Cuellar                 Janek                    Siebert

         Culberson               Jones of Lubbock         Smith

         Danburg                 Jones of Dallas          Smithee

         Davila                  Junell                   Solis

         Davis                   Kamel                    Solomons

         Delisi                  Keel                     Staples

         Denny                   Keffer                   Stiles

         Driver                  King                     Swinford

         Dukes                   Krusee                   Talton

         Dunnam                  Kubiak                   Telford

         Dutton                  Kuempel                  Thompson

         Edwards                 Lewis of Tarrant         Tillery

         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Orange          Torres

         Eiland                  Longoria                 Turner of Coleman

         Elkins                  Luna                     Turner of Harris

         Farrar                  McCall                   Uher

         Finnell                 McClendon                Van de Putte

         Flores                  McReynolds               Walker

         Gallego                 Madden                   West

         Galloway                Marchant                 Williams

         Garcia                  Maxey                    Williamson

         Giddings                Merritt                  Wilson

         Glaze                   Moffat                   Wohlgemuth

         Goodman                 Moreno                   Wolens

         Goolsby                 Mowery                   Woolley

         Gray                    Naishtat                 Yarbrough

         Greenberg               Nixon                    Zbranek

         Grusendorf              Oakley


                                                   Speaker of the House

               I certify that H.R. No. 123 was adopted by the House on

         February 11, 1997, by a non-record vote.


                                                 Chief Clerk of the House