1-1           WHEREAS, February 27, 1997, marks the 49th birthday of our

 1-2     esteemed friend and colleague the Honorable Tommy Merritt, and  we

 1-3     join his family and friends in celebrating this noteworthy

 1-4     milestone; and

 1-5           WHEREAS, While many new lawmakers typically seek to make

 1-6     themselves known through their legislative efforts and work in

 1-7     committee, Representative Merritt enjoyed immediate and widespread

 1-8     recognition due to his unique and daring hairstyle, and he has led

 1-9     even tonsorially conservative members to ponder the potential

1-10     advantage of using one's coiffure as a calling card; and

1-11           WHEREAS, It would be misleading, however, to say that

1-12     Mr. Merritt lets his hair speak for him, since this is a privilege

1-13     he reserves for himself; an avid and rapid conversationalist, he

1-14     has been known to engage even fence posts and domestic animals in

1-15     spirited argument, and it is rumored that modern fiber-optic

1-16     telecommunications technology was developed in order to accommodate

1-17     the sheer volume of his typical conversation; and

1-18           WHEREAS, The founder of one of the top three girls'

1-19     basketball tournaments in the nation, Representative Merritt

1-20     recently attempted to form an all-legislator basketball team, but

1-21     his efforts were thwarted when the State Preservation Board denied

1-22     his request to install a hoop above the speaker's podium; and

1-23           WHEREAS, An avid sportsman as well, Representative Merritt is

1-24     respected and feared by ducks across the Lone Star State, and when

 2-1     not out pursuing this elusive prey, he enjoys supporting the

 2-2     athletic teams of his alma mater, Texas Christian University;

 2-3     fortunately for the Horned Frogs, Representative Merritt is the

 2-4     proud owner and driver of the invincible Super Gas Dragster "Door

 2-5     Slammer," which enables him to close the distance between Austin

 2-6     and Fort Worth at approximately warp speed; and

 2-7           WHEREAS, The spirit of fun in which this tribute is intended

 2-8     in no way diminishes the affection and respect his colleagues feel

 2-9     for Representative Merritt, and the warm congratulations we offer

2-10     him at this auspicious juncture in his life are indeed heartfelt;

2-11     now, therefore, be it

2-12           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

2-13     Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Tommy Merritt on the

2-14     occasion of his 49th birthday and extend to him sincere best wishes

2-15     for continued success and happiness in the years to come; and, be

2-16     it further

2-17           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2-18     prepared for Representative Merritt as an expression of high regard

2-19     by his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.


         Laney                   Gutierrez                Oliveira

         Alexander               Haggerty                 Olivo

         Allen                   Hamric                   Palmer

         Alvarado                Hartnett                 Patterson

         Averitt                 Hawley                   Pickett

         Bailey                  Heflin                   Pitts

         Berlanga                Hernandez                Place

         Bonnen                  Hightower                Price

         Bosse                   Hilbert                  Puente

         Brimer                  Hilderbran               Rabuck

         Burnam                  Hill                     Ramsay

         Carter                  Hinojosa                 Rangel

         Chavez                  Hirschi                  Raymond

         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Reyna of Bexar

         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Dallas

         Clark                   Holzheauser              Rhodes

         Coleman                 Horn                     Rodriguez

         Cook                    Howard                   Roman

         Corte                   Hunter                   Sadler

         Counts                  Hupp                     Seaman

         Crabb                   Isett                    Serna

         Craddick                Jackson                  Shields

         Cuellar                 Janek                    Siebert

         Culberson               Jones of Lubbock         Smith

         Danburg                 Jones of Dallas          Smithee

         Davila                  Junell                   Solis

         Davis                   Kamel                    Solomons

         Delisi                  Keel                     Staples

         Denny                   Keffer                   Stiles

         Driver                  King                     Swinford

         Dukes                   Krusee                   Talton

         Dunnam                  Kubiak                   Telford

         Dutton                  Kuempel                  Thompson

         Edwards                 Lewis of Tarrant         Tillery

         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Orange          Torres

         Eiland                  Longoria                 Turner of Coleman

         Elkins                  Luna                     Turner of Harris

         Farrar                  McCall                   Uher

         Finnell                 McClendon                Van de Putte

         Flores                  McReynolds               Walker

         Gallego                 Madden                   West

         Galloway                Marchant                 Williams

         Garcia                  Maxey                    Williamson

         Giddings                Moffat                   Wilson

         Glaze                   Moreno                   Wise

         Goodman                 Mowery                   Wohlgemuth

         Goolsby                 Naishtat                 Wolens

         Gray                    Nixon                    Woolley

         Greenberg               Oakley                   Yarbrough

         Grusendorf                                       Zbranek


                                                   Speaker of the House

               I certify that H.R. No. 247 was adopted by the House on

         Februrary 27, 1997, by a non-record vote.


                                                 Chief Clerk of the House