H.C.R. No. 251
         WHEREAS, The Texas Legislature relies heavily on advocates
  and experts to inform policy-making decisions, and Ana Yanez Correa
  and Marc Levin have made indispensable contributions to our
  deliberations regarding juvenile justice and criminal justice in
  general; and
         WHEREAS, Ms. Correa is the executive director of the Texas
  Criminal Justice Coalition; committed to identifying and working
  toward real solutions to the problems facing the Texas criminal
  justice system, the coalition identifies and educates supporters
  using cost-effective and innovative tools, partners with
  organizations and associations who share their core beliefs, and
  promotes evidence-based criminal justice solutions that embody the
  principles of effective management, accountability, public safety,
  religious tenets, and human and civil rights; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. Levin is the director of the Center for
  Effective Justice at the Texas Public Policy Foundation; TPPF is a
  nonpartisan research institute guided by the core principles of
  individual liberty, personal responsibility, private property
  rights, free markets, and limited government; the foundation's
  mission is to improve Texas by generating academically sound
  research and data on state issues, and by recommending the findings
  to opinion leaders, policy-makers, the media, and the general
  public; and
         WHEREAS, The Texas Criminal Justice Coalition and the Center
  for Effective Justice have developed policy proposals in the areas
  of sentencing, probation, and parole, focusing on nonviolent
  offenders that protect public safety while eliminating the need to
  build new prisons; such reforms include treatment instead of
  incarceration for nonviolent drug offenders, the reduction of
  technical probation and parole revocations, and victim-offender
  mediation for nonviolent, first-time property offenses; and
         WHEREAS, Ms. Correa's passion for justice is infectious and
  her tenacity is unstoppable; Mr. Levin's intellect is unparalleled
  and his research is impeccable; both bring crucial credibility, and
  their combined contributions to the legislative process will
  favorably enhance the way this state approaches matters of public
  safety and criminal justice policy; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby honor Ana Yanez Correa and Marc Levin and extend to them
  sincere gratitude and best wishes for continued success; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Ms. Correa and Mr. Levin as an expression of high
  regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.
Craddick Gattis Miles
Allen Geren Miller
Alonzo Giddings Moreno
Anchia Gonzales Morrison
Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery
Aycock Goolsby Murphy
Bailey Guillen Naishtat
Berman Haggerty Noriega
Bohac Hamilton O'Day
Bolton Hancock Oliveira
Bonnen Hardcastle Olivo
Branch Harless Orr
Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr.
Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto
Burnam Heflin Parker
Callegari Hernandez Patrick
Castro Herrero Paxton
Chavez Hilderbran Pena
Chisum Hill Phillips
Christian Hochberg Pickett
Cohen Hodge Pierson
Coleman Homer Pitts
Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente
Cook of Colorado Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla
Corte Howard of Travis Raymond
Crabb Hughes Riddle
Creighton Isett Ritter
Crownover Jackson Rodriguez
Darby Jones Rose
Davis of Harris Keffer Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris
Delisi King of Taylor Smithee
Deshotel King of Zavala Solomons
Driver Kolkhorst Strama
Dukes Krusee Straus
Dunnam Kuempel Swinford
Dutton Latham Talton
Eiland Laubenberg Taylor
Eissler Leibowitz Thompson
Elkins Lucio III Truitt
England Macias Turner
Escobar Madden Van Arsdale
Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught
Farias Martinez Veasey
Farrar Martinez Fischer Villarreal
Flores McCall Vo
Flynn McClendon West
Frost McReynolds Woolley
Gallego Menendez Zedler
Garcia Merritt Zerwas
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 251 was adopted by the House on May
  14, 2007, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 251 was adopted by the Senate on May
  22, 2007, by a viva-voce vote.
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________