Thursday, March 17, 2011

9:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.028




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Subcommittee on Public Education Funding was held on Thursday, March 17, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Florence Shapiro, Chair



Senator Robert Duncan



Senator Craig Estes



Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.



Senator Dan Patrick



Senator Kel Seliger



Senator Royce West






The chair called the meeting to order at 9:09 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


Other Senators attending: Senator John Whitmire.


Senator Shapiro made opening remarks to the Committee.


Senator Shapiro called the following invited witnesses to provide testimony. See attached list.


Senator Shapiro recognized Representative Aycock as being present and welcomed him.


At 9:48 AM Senator West assumed the chair.


At 9:59 AM Senator West moved that the committee stand recessed until 30 minutes

after the adjournment of the Senate; without objection, it was so ordered.


At 1:08 PM Senator Shapiro reconvened the committee.


Invited testimony continued. See attached list.


At 2:03 PM Senator Duncan moved that the proposal laid out by the chair be recommended to the full Senate Committee on Finance.


Senator Duncan temporarily withdrew the motion.


At 2:05 PM Senator Duncan moved to adopt the previous proposal, which had been temporarily withdrawn.  Senator Estes seconded the motion. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 2 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.


Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. requested unanimous consent to be shown voting nay on

the proposal; there being no objection, it was so ordered.


At 2:43 PM Senator West assumed the chair.


At 2:49 PM Senator Shapiro resumed the chair.


There being no further business, at 3:21 PM Senator Shapiro moved that the Committee stand

recessed until Monday, March 21, 2011. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Florence Shapiro, Chair




Holly Mabry, Clerk