MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, February 28, 2019 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, February 28, 2019, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

None

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Bob Hall Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Borris Miles

Senator Kel Seliger

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Miles moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, February 21, 2019; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Division of Workers' Compensation, Texas Department of Insurance, Office of Public Insurance Counsel, Office of Independent Ombudsman for the Texas Juvenile Justice Department, Office of Inspector General, Health and Human Services Commission, Governing Board of the Texas Civil Commitment Office, Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents, School Land Board, Advisory Committee to the Texas Board of Criminal Justice on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments, Alamo Regional Mobility Authority, Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke, Governing Board of the Texas School for the

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, February 28, 2019 Page 2

Blind and Visually Impaired, Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners, 95th Judicial District Court, Dallas County, 405th Judicial District Court, Galveston County, Lower Colorado River Authority, State Cemetery Committee, Texas Animal Health Commission, Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying, Texas Crime Stoppers Council, Texas Medical Board, Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors, and Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation Board of Directors. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

Senator Hall moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Gregory "David" Whitley to serve as the Secretary of State. The motion carried with a record vote of 4 ayes, 3 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

Senator Nichols was recognized to introduce Brigettee Henderson, reappointed to the Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents.

Senator Hughes was recognized to introduce Brain Long, appointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles. Senator Nichols was also recognized to offer supporting comments.

Senator Nelson was recognized to introduce, The Honorable Dana Womack, appointed to serve as Justice of the Second Court of Appeals, Place 2.

Senator Flores was recognized to introduce Sheriff Allen D. Jernigan, reappointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Senator Seliger was recognized to introduce James LaFavers, reappointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Senator Watson was recognized to introduce Brooke Paup, reappointed to the Texas Water Development Board, and Gilbert Burciaga, reappointed to the School Land Board.

Senator Kolkhorst was recognized to introduce Sheriff Carmella Jones, reappointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Senator Watson assumed the chair and recognized Chair Buckingham to introduce, Garry Crain, appointed to Texas State University System Board of Regents.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, February 28, 2019

Page 3

Mr. Crain made an opening statement. Questions and commenters were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Watson, and Senator Kolkhorst. No public testimony

was offered.

Senator Buckingham resumed the chair.

Justice Womack made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Vice-Chair Watson. No public testimony was

offered.

Mrs. Paup made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following

members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Watson, and Senator Kolkhorst. No public testimony

was offered.

Sheriff Jernigan, Sheriff Jones, Mr. LaFavers, and Mr. Long each made an opening statement.

Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and

Senator Kolkhorst. No public testimony was offered.

Mrs. Henderson made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the

following members: Chair Buckingham and Senator Kolkhorst. No public testimony was

offered.

Mr. Burciaga made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the

following members: Chair Buckingham and Vice-Chair Watson. No public testimony was

offered.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left

pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:36 a.m., Senator Watson moved that the committee stand

recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair	
Robert Haley Committee Director	