MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 7, 2019 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 7, 2019, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Bob Hall Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger None

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Kolkhorst and Senator Miles.

Senator Alvarado moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, February 28, 2019; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Seliger moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Justice of the Second Court of Appeals, Texas Water Development Board, Board of Pardons and Paroles, Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents, Texas State University System Board of Regents, School Land Board, Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas—Supreme Court Nominee, Board for Lease of Texas Department of Criminal Justice Lands, Board for Lease of Texas Parks and Wildlife Lands, Commission on State Emergency

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, March 7, 2019 Page 2

Communications, Evergreen Underground Water Conservation District, Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission, Judicial Districts Board, Lower Colorado River Authority, North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors, State Board for Educator Certification, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, State Preservation Board, State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Professional Engineers, Texas Farm and Ranch Lands Conservation Council, Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission, and Texas Medical Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Kolkhorst and Senator Miles both submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection; it was so ordered.

Senator Hancock was recognized to introduce Donna Williams, appointed to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Senator Whitmire was recognized to introduce Justice Justin "Brett" Busby, appointed to the Supreme Court of Texas.

Senator Campbell was recognized to introduce Phillip Shay Gause, appointed to the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority.

Senator Fallon was recognized to introduce Brett Graham, re-appointed to the Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

Vice-Chair Watson was recognized to introduce Amanda Arriaga, re-appointed to serve as Nonresident Violator Compact Administrator, and Teresa Doggett, appointed to the Texas Woman's University Board of Regents.

Ms. Doggett made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Justice Busby made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Hall, and Vice-Chair Watson. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Gause made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Senator Hall. No public testimony was offered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, March 7, 2019 Page 3

Mr. Graham made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Senator Hall. No public testimony was offered.

Ms. Arriaga made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Hall, Senator Seliger, and Senator Alvarado. No public testimony was offered.

Ms. Williams made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees, on the posted agenda, would be left pending before the committee.

Chair Buckingham announced that the next hearing, which will be held on Thursday, March 14th, will be in the Betty King Committee Room.

There being no further business, at 10:14 a.m., Senator Seliger moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair	
,	
Britton Davis, Clerk	