MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, April 11, 2019 9:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, April 11, 2019, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Kel Seliger

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Borris Miles Senator Bob Hall

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Vice Chair Watson, Senator Miles, and Senator Kolkhorst.

Senator Seliger moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, April 4, 2019; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Miles moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Gulf Coast Authority Board of Directors, Manufactured Housing Board, One-Call Board of Texas, Real Estate Research Advisory Committee, State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Texas Judicial Council, Texas State University System Board of Regents, Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, and University of Texas System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, April 11, 2019 Page 2

vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Vice Chair Watson and Senator Kolkhorst submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection; it was so ordered.

Senator Alvarado was recognized to introduce Alexander Bunin, re-nominated to the Governing Board of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission.

Senator Campbell was recognized to introduce Kristofer Monson, nominated to be the Chief Administrative Law Judge at the State Office of Administrative Hearings.

Vice Chair Watson was recognized to introduce Lori Cobos, nominated to be the Public Counsel at the Office of Public Utility Counsel, and William Allensworth, re-nominated to the Texas Facilities Commission.

Chair Buckingham, on behalf of Senator Rodriguez, was recognized to introduce R. Scott Kesner, nominated to the Texas Real Estate Commission.

Lori Cobos made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Senator Alvarado. No public testimony was offered.

Alexander Bunin made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Kolkhorst, and Senator Alvarado. No public testimony was offered.

William Allensworth made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

R. Scott Kesner made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Kristofer Monson made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees, on the posted agenda, would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:53 a.m., Senator Buckingham moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, April 11, 2019 Page 3

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair
Britton Davis, Clerk