MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE

Tuesday, June 20, 2023 11:30 AM or upon recess Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Tuesday, June 20, 2023, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Joan Huffman, Chair Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair Senator Paul Bettencourt Senator Donna Campbell Senator Brandon Creighton Senator Pete Flores Senator Bob Hall Senator Kelly Hancock Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Angela Paxton Senator Charles Perry Senator Charles Schwertner Senator Royce West Senator John Whitmire Senator Judith Zaffirini

MEMBERS ABSENT: Senator Robert Nichols

The chair called the meeting to order at 11:37 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The chair laid out SB 26 and recognized the author, Senator Bettencourt, to explain the bill.

Senate Committee on Finance Minutes Tuesday, June 20, 2023 Page 2

No witnesses testified or registered on the bill.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bettencourt moved that SB 26 be reported favorably to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 16 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

The chair laid out SJR 2 and recognized the author, Senator Bettencourt, to explain the bill.

No witnesses testified or registered on the bill.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bettencourt moved that SJR 2 be reported favorably to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 16 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

There being no further business, at 12:07 PM Senator Huffman moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Joan Huffman, Chair

Stephanie Hoover, Clerk