MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 27, 2023 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 27, 2023, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Drew Springer

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Morgan LaMantia Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Bryan Hughes

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Eckhardt, Senator Springer, and Senator Miles.

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Chief Administrative Law Judge at the Office of State Administrative Hearings, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Employees Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees, Board of Pardons and Paroles, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Adjutant General of Texas, Alamo Regional Mobility Authority, Angelina and Neches River Authority Board of Directors, Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority, Camino Real Regional Mobility Authority, Canadian River Compact Commissioner, Commission on State

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, March 27, 2023 Page 2

Emergency Communications, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Finance Commission of Texas, Lower Neches Valley Authority Board of Directors, Manufactured Housing Board, Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority, North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority, North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors, Pecos River Compact Commission, Product Development and Small Business Incubator Board, Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, Red River Compact Commission, Sabine River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, Sabine River Compact Administration, State Board for Educator Certification, State Employee Charitable Campaign Policy Committee, Sulphur River Regional Mobility Authority, Texas Crime Stoppers Council, Texas Military Preparedness Commission, Texas Municipal Retirement System Board of Trustees, Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists, Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, Texas State Library and Archives Commission, Webb County—City of Laredo Regional Mobility Authority. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Eckhardt and Senator Miles both submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Zaffirini to introduce her constituent Dr. Rosie Morris, who has bee appointed to the Finance Commission of Texas.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Zaffirini to introduce her constituent Mr. Derek Gaudlitz, who has been appointed to the San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Birdwell to introduce his constituent, Mrs. Linda Morris, who has been reappointed to the Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Huffman, to introduce her constituent Mr. Steven Mach, who has been reappointed to the Public Safety Commission.

Mr. Steven Mach made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Commissioner Jon Niermann, who has been reappointed to the TCEQ.

Commissioner Niermann made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Alvarado, Senator Eckhardt, and Vice-Chair Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, March 27, 2023 Page 3

Dr. Rosie Morris made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Derek Gaudlitz made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator West, to introduce his constituent Mr. Ian Shaw, who has been appointed to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

Mr. Ian Shaw made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mrs. Linda Morris made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Creighton, to introduce his constituent Mr. Ronnie Anderson, who has been reappointed to the San Jacinto River Authority Board of Directors.

Mr. Ronnie Anderson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Bettencourt, to introduce his constituent Mr. Kevin Barber, who has been reappointed to the Texas Veterans Commission.

Mr. Kevin Barber made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that the nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:37 a.m., Senator Alvarado moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, March 27, 2023 Page 4

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair
Brandon Gajeton, Clerk