#### **MINUTES**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 22, 2023 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 22, 2023, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Senator Drew Springer

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Morgan LaMantia Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton None

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Alvarado, Senator Eckhardt, Senator Hughes, and Senator Miles.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Whitmire to introduce his constituent Mr. Russell Gordy, who has been appointed to the Texas State University System Board of Regents.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Nichols to introduce his constituent Commissioner Kathleen Jackson, who has been appointed to the Public Utility Commission of Texas.

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, May 22, 2023 Page 2

Chair Campbell recognized Senator King to introduce his constituent Mr. Ben Gatzke, who has been reappointed to the Department of Information Resources.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Springer, on behalf of Senator Parker, to introduce his constituent Regent Laura Wright, who has been reappointed to the University of North Texas System Board of Regents. Upon his arrival, Senator Parker was recognized to offer comments of support for the reappointment of Regent Wright to the University of North Texas System Board of Regents.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Kolkhorst to introduce her constituent Mr. Matthew Arthur, who has been appointed to the Lower Colorado River Authority.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Paxton to introduce her constituent Judge Cynthia Wheless, who has been appointed to the Texas Juvenile Justice Board.

Commissioner Kathleen Jackson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Sparks, and Senator Springer offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Matthew Arthur made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Sparks, Senator Eckhardt, and Senator Hughes offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Russell Gordy made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Hughes, and Senator La Mantia offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Ben Gatzke made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Regent Laura Wright made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Springer offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Judge Cynthia Wheless made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Public testimony was closed.

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, May 22, 2023 Page 3

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, Correctional Managed Health Care Committee, Department of Information Resources, District Attorney, 118th Judicial District, Howard, Martin, and Glasscock Counties, Gulf Coast Authority Board of Directors, Lower Colorado River Authority, Nueces River Authority Board of Directors, Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board, Public Utility Commission of Texas, State Preservation Board, State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists, Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, Texas Facilities Commission, Texas Funeral Service Commission, Texas Juvenile Justice Board, Texas Racing Commission, Texas State University System Board of Regents, Trinity River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, University of Houston System Board of Regents, University of North Texas System Board of Regents, Upper Guadalupe River Authority, and Veterans' Land Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.

There being no further business, at 9:25 a.m., Chair Campbell moved that the Committee be
adjourned. Without objection, it was so ordered.
Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair
Robert Haley Clerk